Questions

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

sam

Questions

Post by sam »

I am new to designing skis and have a few questions that I thought you guys could help me with. First of all, I've been looking around and am having trouble deciding how stiff my skis should be. I am only 140 lbs but the skis will be used for higher speeds. Also how much of the length of the ski should be put into non-running length aka tip and tail. Thanks for the help and I think this is a great site and look forward to contributing more in the future.
G-man

Post by G-man »

Welcome Sam,

We'll all have varying opinions regarding your questions, but here's mine.

I say soft, wide skis for soft snow, and firm, narrower (I like mid-fats) skis for firm snow. I want my soft snow ski to float well and have a soft enough flex that it will decamber into a nice, deep flex arc for the turns. A stiff ski in soft snow won't flex into an arc, so it won't turn well... I'm not using my edges to turn in soft snow, I'm using the ski base to turn.

On firm or hard snow, I don't need to float... I need to carve with my edges. So, I want a narrower ski so I can be faster edge to edge and also to get some edge pressure to to the tip and tail edges so they'll hang in the turn... that happens better if the ski is narrower and has a stiffer flex. On firm snow, a narrower ski is easier on my knees, ankles, and leg muscles. If I ski on a wide ski on hard snow even for 2 or 3 hours, my legs really feel it.