Summer skibuilding 2014

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

pavelbozak

Summer skibuilding 2014

Post by pavelbozak »

Hi, I just realized to put some images from my second season of skibuilding. There is such a hot weather, that I can t go out to profile my next cores :D and continue with working. This year I have finished 5 pairs and I would like to add maybe five or six more pairs :)

I am a student and don´t have some CNC machines, or other expensive equipement. I just use my father´s "workshop" and try to improvize as much as possible, but that doesn t mean I don t want to built my ski with high precision :) aka router is very powerfull helper when building skis....

Let´s try to upload some photos:

my skipress.... designed for 6 bar pressure (I use the pressure of 5 bars). In fact, this is the first thing, I d like to built new. It doesn t mean it is not good, but it seams to be quite anoying to put skis with the whole form into it from frontside... I spend so much time with core fixation to pretect it from shifting. And I d also make some better heating. My aim is temperature about 50 °C, so now my heating is a kind of sauna around the press :D. Looks horrible, but it works for now....

Layup with the whole bottom form (it is very heavy and 2 persons re needed to get it into the press)

Cores I use are made from high qualite ash wood. My experience is that it is not easy to built soft skis :D But In fact I am happy with that...

Core density detail...

Last year I used bangkirai for sidewalls but this year I decided to try black locust (it is quite cheap in here to get it). But bangkirai for sidewalls seems to be perfect (after 31 days of skiing on my moms skis, absolutely no defects). The only problem is price of the bangkirai wood...

Attached sidewalls (Black locust)