Core thickness to compensate for re-enforcement change

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

Idris

Core thickness to compensate for re-enforcement change

Post by Idris »

I about to experiment with some industrial flax to replace fibreglass -

I'm not very good at Mechanical math - mattman or others can you help again.

(I've already gone from 650gsm to 750gsm glass witht the help of mattman)

Ski

Length 180cm

Core length 1550 (20cm tip 5cm tail)

Core thickness 2.5mm,11.5mm,2.5mm - smoothed pyramid in shape.

Tip width 130, 100 underfoot, 119 tail

Currently using 750gsm (22oz Glass)

Here are the calculations on both Glass and Flax for comparison

· Glass: 400 g/m2 fibers, 50% fiber volume fraction 50% matrix volume fraction, thus composite 596 g/m2, 0.31mm thick and modulus 39GPa, thus stiffness 12235 N/mm
· Flax: 400 g/m2 fibers, 50% fiber volume fraction 50% matrix volume fraction, thus composite 785 g/m2, 0.62mm thick and modulus 31.5GPa, thus stiffness 19385 N/mm

The material I will be using will be

400 g/m2 UD and 360 g/m2 biaxial +/- 45° flax

I am not looking for anything super accurate - although I know there are some rocket scientist lurking ;)

Just trying to avoid shooting in the dark - not my preferred method of core calculation.

In future this may be a source of bio replacement for fibreglass for us all

Thanks in advance
Tom

( how the calc is done would be great to know so I can change all my other skis ;) )
chrismp

Post by chrismp »

i can't really give you any good tips on how to solve your problem...sry. i usually do this by trial and error.

what i'm really interested in is where you get your flax though! :D i've received some samples from lineo, but they don't have any +/-45 and only lightweight unidirectionals.
i've been wanting to try out flax for a long time, but i could never find a suitable cloth.
Richuk

Post by Richuk »