Anyone knows about hydronic heating ?

Yak away here, please! This category is for random discussions, comments, and anything but the topics shown above.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

ben_mtl

Anyone knows about hydronic heating ?

Post by ben_mtl »

Hey all,

I'm about to install the heating in my new garage/workshop.
The tubing for radiant heating is already in the concrete slab but I'm no expert at all for all the stuff needed to complete the setup...

From what I understood I would need a water heater + thermostat, a pump, an expansion tank and a few fittings + manifolds.

The thing is my heating will be a closed loop as I have no water in the garage. Some people say I would also need a "glycol injector" or something like that to keep the system under pressure (@15PSI or so). Is this really mandatory or can the system run without it ? this "injector" almost doubles the cost of the setup :(

Thanks for any help !

Ben
A bad day skiing is always better than a good one at work...
skidesmond

Post by skidesmond »

Hi Ben,

My brother-in-law installs radiant heating systems. I can ask him for his opinion.
ben_mtl

Post by ben_mtl »

That would be awesome... it's not that I don't want to call an installer here but I really want to install it myself (so I can say I made 100% of my workshop) and I would feel pretty cheap asking someone to come give me an estimate of the job just to get the info I'm missing...

Thanks !

I'll try to post pics of the garage/workshop everything is done except for the heating... and the inside is a huge mess , I don't even know where to start for the cleaning !
skidesmond

Post by skidesmond »

Hi Ben,
Here's what my brother-in-law says: