Balsa core fattys, first try!

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

K.Ström

Balsa core fattys, first try!

Post by K.Ström »

Finaly ive got my thumb out of my ass and orderd the stuff needed for my first pair of skis. So new to this forum and new to skibuilding. But damn! im up for the challange!
I may bee new too skibuilding but not to composites and the making of grp/frp pruducts. Ive been building model airplanes out of composites for 3 years now, mostley whith vacuum bagged wings around foamcores and fuselages made in moulds. Therefore my first skis will be made vac bagged as I got all I need for that. I hope to bring some new ideas into the skibuilding and offcourse, learn alot from you more experienced guys on this forum.
Why do I want to make a ski then? Well, simply because a think i can make a better powder ski when whoose out there on the market today. And I do have alot of ideas of how to do it.
Enoght of crap talking, lets get to the buissnies!

The meassurments of the ski will be 150-135-120, 182cm. Yes, thats a completly straight ski. From my point of view, sidcut is bullshit when it comes to riding in deep snow. As you edging your ski in deep snow they will bend anyway. And its the bending of the ski thats creates the turn, right? Sidecut just makes skis nervus at high speeds.
Ususally i ride skis thats 10-15cm longer then myself but this ski will be an exeption. (Im 182cm long and weigths about 98kg) Just because im looking for an easy manuverable ski in the trees.
The core should be made only out of balsa wood. And some Birch plywood for binding reinforcment. The balsa is just for keeping the wight down. My goal is to make the skis lighter than 3kg a pair.
The sidwall should be made out of the same p-tex material as the base. Not thick but hopfully enough, and it keeps the weight down.