The Rumpelstiltskis

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

Grizzly Adams

The Rumpelstiltskis

Post by Grizzly Adams »

Howdy all,

Just like every second post in this forum it seems, this is my first build and I'm pretty damn stoked.

Long before I started the project, I've thought about what my ideal ski would look like and, though many ideas came to mind, I settled upon a powder board that would be versatile enough to use all over the mountain that also had a pretty tight turning radius (~20m). They would need a catchy name (The Rumpelstiltskis), and in addition they would need to be long enough to drop huge cliffs and stay stable while I mach past gapers on the flats, lol ;-). More importantly, they are going to have an absolutely glorious topsheet, but I can't let that cat out of the bag until later.

The ultimate dimensions are:
Tip - 130mm
Waist - 95mm
Tail - 120mm
Length - 190cm
Camber - 25mm

To begin with, I needed to collect all the tools we had from our storage unit, which happened to be piled to the 15 foot wall ceiling with poorly labeled boxes, awesome. Luckily my brother was there to help me and we grabbed what we needed fairly expediently.

Next, I had to set up my verkshoppe, and by workshop, I mean my parents garage. I started by moving a bunch of extraneous stuff to storage and covering the remainder with painters plastic. Next, I decided to expand my work bench a bit to accommodate long materials.
This gave me some room to play around with.

My cousin Jeff and his dad (a fire marshall) were kind enough to donate some 5" fire hose for the bladder, all I had to do was devise a system of fittings (and silly amounts of marine sealant) to allow for inflation.