Epoxy Question

For discussions related to the type of materials to build skis/snowboards and where to get them.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

Telemark Mark

Epoxy Question

Post by Telemark Mark »

I'm hoping that someone can help me out here. I've searched through every post I can find and nada so far. I'm going to Vacuum Press skis (same setup as Big Kam used on the "Grande Kokoa's." I plan on using a basic store-bought heating blanket to cover the bag.

I have never worked with epoxy before........and therefore have no clue about hardeners, work time, heating issues, ratios, etc. (or what the difference is between resin and epoxy for that matter).

Big Kam used West Systems with 105 resin with 205 hardener. Is that good? How much do I order? I live in the Lake Tahoe area. Is that the best company to order from?

Also, should I use the ratio of 300-500 grams of epoxy mix per (1) ski?

Thanks a bunch for your help.

Great site!
rockaukum

Post by rockaukum »

I am using the west systems epoxy with out any problems. I got it from a marine supply outfit named "west marine" in Stockton. You should have a place near you, maybe Reno? I also tried out the metering pumps for the epoxy. I have used the pumps on two one gallon cans of epoxy and hardener without any problems. The pumps are calibrated to be a one to one.
Best on the ski building and you gotta love the snow now!
rockaukum
Telemark Mark

Post by Telemark Mark »

rockaukum -

The snow here has been awesome! I start smiling just thinking about the past weekend of skiing. I need leg transplants now though. Four days of knee-to-waist deep powder skiing wrecked me.

Should I just go to a local marine store and ask questions about ratios, amount, brand, hardeners, etc?
rockaukum

Post by rockaukum »