Tip and Tail Hardware for Structural Support

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

m4rj09

Tip and Tail Hardware for Structural Support

Post by m4rj09 »

First off, i'd like to introduce myself as this is the first time i've posted on the forum.

I'm an engineering undergrad up in Whistler building a ghetto wood pneumatic press. I'm leaving to Brisbane, Auzzyland soon and pushing hard to get some decent skis out of my press.

Anywho, i've been looking around for info to no avail about using hardware (aka nuts and bolts) for putting into the tips and tails of skis. I'm assuming they are just to prevent the ski from delaming when the tip/tail experiences hard impacts, but thats just my best guess.

Does anyone know anything about this?

An example is the K2 Public Enemies:

teleman36

Tip and Tail Hardware

Post by teleman36 »