The dynamics of skiing

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

bcohen5055

The dynamics of skiing

Post by bcohen5055 »

Hello, everyone. I’ve been lurking on the skibuilders forum for almost 2 years now and I’ve learned a lot of great information. I do plan on eventually building skis but currently I’m more interested in truly understanding ski design. I’m a recent grad of a mechanical engineering program and while in school I spent a great deal of time working with composites and race vehicles. I have a foundational understanding of vehicle dynamics and I’m hoping to develop a similar understanding of the dynamics applicable to skiing.

I’d like to use this thread as a place to share information that will enable ski builders to make quantitative decisions when deciding on ski geometry and materials. I realize that skis are very sensitive to the skier itself and that may even be a dominant factor in ski performance, but I still think by understanding the physics we can all develop better skis that are matched closely to the skiers style.

So now where to begin? I’d like to possibly begin by just discussing the different loads and reactions skis see in various scenarios. We can start breaking things down but maybe if someone has a good link to an introductory article on the physics of skiing that may be better.
Richuk

Post by Richuk »

The forum consists of many hackers, a few pioneers and one or two engineers, so how do you intend to ensure that everyone can contribute and or confirm the results.
Last edited by Richuk on Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Head Monkey

Post by Head Monkey »

I used to have a copy of this book, but I can't find it anymore. IIRC it was interesting:

http://www.real-world-physics-problems. ... kiing.html