Obygden Teknologi - s02

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

o.ahlgren

Obygden Teknologi - s02

Post by o.ahlgren »

hey guys,

completed my first build this spring after reading up on things on here for a couple of months.
got to ride the first board (splitboard) and found that it actually performed (!) which led me to build a couple more.

started from scratch on a completely new design. it's intended to be lightweight pow split, with some added bells and whistles like magnetraction on both outside and inside edges. i made the design in illustrator (don't have access to solidworks anymore) but found that it actually wasn't that bad.
snöverdos158.png
snöverdos158.png (305.83 KiB) Viewed 4448 times
once i had the shape and profile figured out i started playing around a lot with junksupply's ski-calculator to nail down my core properties.
i wanted something lightweight and decided to go for a core with a mix of poplar/paulownia. aiming for a stiffness that's about 7/10 and ended up with a 2.5 - 7.7 - 2.5mm core profile.
started by routing out the shape of the cores using mdf template i had made.
routed cores.jpg
routed cores.jpg (380.76 KiB) Viewed 4448 times
i made a core profiler (router bridge style) from laser cut mdf. got access to a smaller laser cutter at work, but due to it's size have to cut everything in sections because the laser bed is only 800x400mm.
core_profiling.jpg
core_profiling.jpg (448.06 KiB) Viewed 4448 times