Newcomer's first builds

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

JSquare

Newcomer's first builds

Post by JSquare »

hello all! I've been on the forum for the past few months, mostly reading...and reading...and reading. This is an awesome community. The building bug bit me this past august, and I've been working with a buddy for a few months. This site has been such a big help for two guys that had no idea how these things all worked.

As I write this first post, we are awaiting our final materials from various places, so its a good way to pass the time.

The board: 157cm long, 8.0m radius, 7mm in the middle, 2.5mm on the tips and tail. Side cuts, profile, and feet set back 3cm from center. Tail is a sort of boxy thing and the nose is a bullet. Board is 300mm at its widest to accommodate riders with big feet.

Methodology: Vertically laminated poplar core, with maple sidewalls. We just free handed the stack in the bandsaw and jointed/planed off the excess. Core was profiled using a version of the skibuilders router bridge in the how to section.

Board will be vacuum pressed at room temp in a basement. Vacuum mold is a copy of one shown on www.boardcrafter.com. It has four ribs, a wooden cat track, a sheet of poly carb clamped against the track. The polycarb acts as a bottom of the mold, where vacuum film is sealed against it during the layup.

Pics to follow...

Poplar stack with Titebond III

Clamping the stack

Cutting the stack on the band saw free hand.

Routing the core

Glue up of maple sidewalls.
Last edited by JSquare on Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jekul

Post by Jekul »

Nice pics and cores. Quick question. In the past I've always ripped 1/2" x X" and glued my cores one at a time. In the next 1-2 weeks I'll be making 5-10 pairs of cores in a similar manner to yours. Now for the question: