Our first try.

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

Sonny

Our first try.

Post by Sonny »

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting but i've been lurking around and reading here for months.

Me and my friend started this project this winter and are progressing just fine (I think), we built a ski press and are soon ready to press our first pair of skis. (Made in Sweden! :))
I've tried to find answers to all my questions in this forum but there's always more stuff emerging as you try and figure out how to do stuff.

I've got some pictures of our progress and would like tips, do's and don'ts and all the help we can get if there's anything we missed.

When i've been a member for more then a day and made some posts I can show you the images!

What's left for uses to:

# Profile our cores.
# Bend and attach edges to base material. (and build an edge bender)
# Finish our press molds.
# Test the press at working pressure (if there's time) 8)

I've got so much questions and first i'd like to ask what you guys think of my core thickness. I really don't know what to expect but i would like the skis to be soft for powder skiing so i was thinking 2mm at the tip/tail and 10mm underfoot. Unsure about everything in between though. :oops:

I would really love all the input I can get and I will get back soon to show any progress and in not to many weeks we will press our first snowboard. :D

/Sonny
Sonny

Post by Sonny »

Forgot to mention that the ski measurements are 160-135-145 @ 195cm running length.

Also I know that almost everyone is using heat in their setups. Is that critical or can you actually make decent skis without extra heat?

Pictures will be uploaded tomorrow, i know this thread is not worth much without them..
twizzstyle

Post by twizzstyle »