VSC 2011 and on

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

amidnightproject

VSC 2011 and on

Post by amidnightproject »

Well, I've been picking away at skis for a couple years now. Finally upgraded things from an abused wooden press to a neat-o steel one.

Basically I'm making a place holder as my resolution this year is to actually start one of these threads instead of only posting on Google+

I'll be back in awhile with some pics!

- Chris
OAC

Post by OAC »

Oh! A new journal!! :)
skidesmond

Post by skidesmond »

Hey Chris! Lets see some new skis from that fancy new press :D
amidnightproject

Fancy Schmancy :D

I would have had some pictures last night, buuttt my epoxy crystalized. So now I get to heat up and mix epoxy tonight... Boooo.
amidnightproject

Ok so I've got a few pics and I guess I'll go from here.

This was my first press. All wood. I built the top and bottom beams by gluing and bolting 3/4 advantec together vertically. It weights about 450-ish without the molds in. I've got some more pics floating around elsewhere that I'll put up when I've got time to go get em.

It worked pretty well for about 15 skis or so. And it sounded like an old barn floor when being inflated, cracking and groaning the whole time. It's still standing but I would recommend against it without way more supports in the middle for strength.

Made these on this press.

amidnightproject

Soo after a season of working in a barn (a really cold barn) and pressing in a basement (still kinda cold) I decided I wanted to actually get into ski building a little more. So I decided to shell out for some work space.

Built a new press with heat and all that fun stuff

Decided to search for ISO's 8210 top sheet as I personally feel crowns product is not that great. Found it and it's shiney and more durable...

It's also more clear.

And Brazen Enjoys FIRE