ROUTER THREAD

For discussions related to designing and making ski/snowboard-building equipment, such as presses, core profilers, edge benders, etc.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

thefreshpimpofbigair

ROUTER THREAD

Post by thefreshpimpofbigair »

With all the router talk......
Lets talk routers.... types, uses, accessories, bits etc.
I have three.
a ryobi fixed
a bosch plunge
a porter cable tilt base trim router
the bosch is the least used.
the ryobi the most.
the porter cable only for sidewalls.,

I have limited experience with things like guide bushings and the like, but would like to learn more. (maybe g-man can elaborate)
Am about to build a new template (for a snowboard) out of 3/4 mdf and just do the base outline....then take a rabbeting bit w/ bearing and cutting a recess which will then serve as my core template.... sorta a two-sided thing. will post a pic when done.
I think guide bushings would be very usefull to those of us w/ no cnc access. I would like to eliminate the waste when cutting base using a fat-ass template/flush cut bit....ie: instead use a smaller template / bushing and a small kerf bit????
make sense???
R
EricW

Post by EricW »

So far I'm a fan of the Bosch 1618 and Bosch in general for that matter. The seem to have really stepped up their game in the last few years. The D-handle is pretty sweet and the trigger on the grip is a great safety mechanism if you accidentally let go or it gets ripped from your hands.

I like the dewalt 618 which is the replacement for the 621 but it seems to have a high failure rate which is a bummer. I'd rather get the fixed/plunge kit but not if it's going to burn up in a few months or even weeks. Concept of it is really nice but china = bad.
MontuckyMadman

Post by MontuckyMadman »

porter cable between me and a ski building helper partner guy we have 5.
Multi purpose except for the trim router for sidewalls.
doughboyshredder

Post by doughboyshredder »