nightmare/daydream split

So, did they work, and how were they? Show everyone proof that your ride was a success (or even a complete failure)!

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

strangesnowboarding

nightmare/daydream split

Post by strangesnowboarding »

finally finished our first split here at nightmare labs.

poplar core (6mm at bindings)
vds
4abs sidewalls
4edges
entropy resin (compression molding formula CPM)
asymmetrical rocker (+15mm at the tip, +7 at the tail)
fing inserts EVERYWHERE
used the voile split kit (i have been using it for 3 years on various snowboards)

results:
for our first totally custom board it came out great!
i did everything that should be done by a machine by hand. core shape, base, tip/tail spacers all done with an xacto without a template. hand measured all the inserts out too.
sidewalls bonded great and held up thru profiling and flame treatment.
small ammt of core shift during pressing (did not have custom cassettes for this project). all the hardware mounted, good not great.
man there is a lot of work that goes into finishing a split, sidewalls, base and edge grind, measure and drill out the final hardware. pretty much took one whole workday.

trip report:
i attached the bindings to the plates and stuck the skins on. set out right from my back door and headed up buffalo mtn (probably 7 miles to the summit from my house).
it skins like a dream, lightweight, mad flexible (the tips stay on top of the snow no matter how deep i sink). i got to around 12,000ft and one of my skins fell off. they have been sitting for almost a year and were covered in snow on the sticky side, so i gave up the uphill journey.
switched to snowboard mode and managed a few nice pow turns in the pine forest before i got back to my trail and rode hardpack all the way back to my house.
cant say anything conclusive about the way it rides yet, maybe next trip i will be able to put it through its paces.